Latest information about the Lok Sabha elections

Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of the adult suffrage. The maximum strength of the House envisaged by the Constitution is 552, which is made up by election of upto 530 members to represent the States, upto 20 members to represent the Union Territories and not more than two members of the Anglo-Indian Community to be nominated by the Hon'ble President, if, in her/his opinion, that community is not adequately represented in the House. After coming into effect of The Constitution (One Hundred and Fourth Amendment) Act, 2019, the provision of special representation of the Anglo-Indian community in the House of the People by nomination has not been extended further. The total elective membership (543) is distributed among the States in such a way that the ratio between the number of seats allotted to each State and the population of the State is, so far as practicable, the same for all States.

The 17th Lok Sabha was formed by the members elected in the 2019 general election. Lok Sabha elections were held all across India in seven phases from 11 April 2019 to 19 May 2019 under the supervision of the Election Commission of India. Counting of votes began on 23 May 2019 and results were declared on the same day.

Om Birla was elected as Speaker of the House. No Opposition party was able to get the minimum requirement (10% of seats) to claim the position of leader of opposition. Fourteen per cent of MPs are women. BJP won the maximum member of seats (303), followed by INC (53 seats).